From day 1 to day 17

14344101_10207468518856493_2968879070403117911_n

Yes, as you can understand from the title, today I celebrate my 17th day in Prague. It seems like I just arrived yesterday, time is passing really fast. So, this is a little update post to let everyone know what I’ve been up to in these 17 days.

I spent my first four days exploring the town as much as I could. Not because I thought I’d run out of time before I get to see everything, but because I couldn’t be in my room. (I’m staying in dorms) Every single time I was alone in my room I felt emotional. I was completely alone in a country I’ve never been before, I didn’t understand the language and all I wanted to do was curl up in my bed back home. As you can tell I was absolutely homesick. That’s why I didn’t stay in and cry all day but I went out. I saw all the important landmarks in Prague just in four days. I was constantly on my feet.

On the fifth day school started for me and I met the most amazing 14 people, my classmates, my fellow Erasmus+ exchange students. And I realized that I am not alone in this. These 14 people are going through the exact same thing. And somehow that made my day better, knowing that I’m not alone in this. These 14 people are so different in their way, they support different cultures, we have three people from France, three from Germany, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Lithuania, Poland, and from Czech Republic. Event though none of us spoke the same language, I’ve never felt so close to people I’ve met a few minutes ago. And then it hit me – everything is going to be just fine! 🙂

Since then, we’ve explored the whole Prague together and had more beers than I’ve ever had in my life. Prague is an incredible city. The sights here are to die for, really. Maybe that’s just for me, as I am from a country that is a lot smaller than Czech Republic. My roommate here is an amazing Czech girl who thankfully speaks English.

Here I am a blank page. No one knows me. I can be whoever I want to be, I can do whatever I want. But most importantly – I can be myself and be okay with that. My journey continues on Monday when all of us, Erasmus students, are going to explore the heart of Czech Republic – Karlovy Vary. Stick around.

~LandLil

Leave a Reply

